Skip to content

6/100 Household Objects: Small Blue Level

May 9, 2013

The series of ordinary household objects has continued, although I am (ahem) quite behind in posting them to this blog. This was finished a year or so ago. I don’t hate the finished version (at the bottom), but in retrospect, I mourn the beautiful looseness of the first version.

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Small Blue Level, oil on panel, 7 1/4″ x 12″, 2012

I do wish I hadn’t nailed this particular butterfly to the wall in the quest for a greater precision, and looking at it again, while it kind of hurts, is reminding me to stop sooner next time, a lesson I only seem to learn at the rate of one millimeter per year.

The work is the death mask of its conception.

— Walter Benjamin

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

